BROMSGROVE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MEETING OF THE APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

THURSDAY, 14TH JANUARY 2010, AT 6.00 P.M.

PRESENT: Councillors G. N. Denaro, J. T. Duddy, Mrs. J. Dyer M.B.E. and S. R. Peters

Observers: Mr. N. A. Burke, Chairman of the Standards Committee

Officers: Mrs. D. Warren

5/09 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

<u>RESOLVED</u> that Councillor G. N. Denaro be elected Chairman of the Committee for the meeting.

6/09 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND NOTIFICATION OF SUBSTITUTES

An apology for absence was received from Councillor R. Hollingworth. Councillor Mrs. J. Dyer M.B.E. had been nominated as his substitute.

7/09 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 - EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED that under Section 100 I of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended, the public be excluded from the meeting during the consideration of the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Part I of Schedule 12A to the Act, as amended, the relevant paragraphs of that part in each case being as set out below, and that it is in the public interest to do so:-

Minute No. Paragraph 08/09 1

8/09 APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT MEMBER TO THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

The Committee interviewed four applicants who had been shortlisted for the position of Independent Member on the Standards Committee for a four year term of office.

<u>RECOMMENDED</u> that Ms Kimara Sharpe be appointed to serve as an Independent Member on the Standards Committee for a four year term of office expiring 20th January 2014.

The meeting closed at 7.45 p.m.

Chairman